Progress on my home page design

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 10.26.05

Here is my Home page design for my portfolio website so far! This is just a progress update of what I’ve been doing to my site and why i have being doing it.

On this home page, i have added 2 social media links and the reason i did this is because i have some of my designs on youtube and twitter as well as i always update people in what I’m doing relating graphics design so following me on twitter would help other graphic designers or people who like my work on what i have been doing and what sort of projects are to come in the future. On youtube, i upload videos of me going through the process of designing little projects that take under an hour to make and i speed the video up by 900% and these videos are called Speed-arts. The reason i do these types of videos is because i like to show people how i design certain things for that individual and it allows other people to see what i can do and what programmes i use in order to create certain graphics.

Also on the home page i have a link to my wordpress.com blog and the reason i have this on the home page is because its easy to find and then people can see what I’m up to and how i go at researching for my ideas and progress on creating them and my final ideas.

I put a preview of what type of designs i have inside my portfolio/gallery on the main page so that people can get a quick glimpse of what they are to expect also i put a an extra box in for people that would want to buy graphics off of me and the reason i did this is because i feel like some people don’t know if you are a selling graphic designer so i put this on the home page to indicate people that i can create graphics for anyone if they are willing to pay a certain price. This button will lead them straight to the contact tab.

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 10.26.19

For the type face, i chose myriad pro which is a sans-serif and the reason i chose a sans-serif over a serif is because i just wanted a font that looked clean and suited the entire site plus i didn’t want to use a serif font because my site looks modern and serif fonts is more for stuff that has a history to it or looks a bit old.

I chose this layout for the top part of my site because it looks clean and simple as well as i thought it would be easy for people to navigate around. Also people can see the text properly and that people will know easily what page they are on the site as the page they are on, the link will light up blue like where it says Home.

I chose this colour scheme (blue, grey and white) because i thought it would make the site look a bit modern as well as i thought that these colours made the site look clean but to be honest most colours looked nice on the site. for example purple, red and green all looked nice on the bit but i chose blue as the colour because i thought it looked better as well as its like my favourite colour so this shows to people that i like this colour.

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.00.48 Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.00.58 Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.01.07

For example purple, red and green all looked nice on the bit but i chose blue as the colour because i thought it looked better as well as its like my favourite colour so this shows to people that i like this colour.

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 10.26.33

Here is just a quick design i made as my logo for myself and the reason i designed this is because if i wanted people to recognise me i would have needed to create a brand or a logo so that when people see my logo on any site they would recognise who i am and personal i think its about recognition and growing the potential.

i pretty much got a cool handwriting type font and typed in my name and merged them together to make it look like a signature type logo and then i just put graphic designer in small blue sans-serif text hovering above Bryce.

Overall i think my site is doing well and i will be continuing on this design as I’m liking the outcome and how it looks. In the future i will be designing the other 3 pages that will be on the site in the same type of layout as the home page.

Leave a Reply

